FAQ / n-CASE 1

I'm new to all this
Navigation
Quick resource
Internet security
About this site
If you've have the money
Spyware
Additional
Links
Site Search

Legal disclaimer, I cannot be held responsible for any damage caused by following these instructions this is at your own risk

Questions from lectrochoc

av antivirus just picked up TR/IstBar.U virus yesterday and i aint rebooted yet .Today the ncase window popped up. Any ideas what this virus is and wether its to do with this trash ncase? Cant find any info on the virus.Just told ncase to ignore for now and remind me again later? Any procedures for now? i run adaware 6.0 .

Reply from Devilin

looks like a variation on ISTBAR Trojan , nothing to do with n-case, if AV anti virus doesn't deal with it, try spybot, which should take care of it for you,


Questions from lectrochoc

I`ve followed your instructions to remove n case but I just get a message tell ing me I must be connected to the internet to remove the program,help I`m a lost soul seeking a wise solution.kev

Reply from Devilin

Which of the 3 ways of uninstall it, confused you? kev


Questions from britt

o0oh i didnt really need that n-case thing, did i? O:-) because i...accidentally purposely uninstalled it, since my anti-virus program recognized it as a virus. I used the uninstaller on n-case.com, but I'm a bit worried about going into the registry and deleting things. Do you think the uninstaller alone was effective?

Reply from Devilin

No Its only partially effected, use some anti-spyware software to remove the bits it leaves behind


from Greywolf

This is just a thought that hit while I read... Could it be possible that they found a legal loophole involving installing it, that allows them to avoid legal problems should anyone report it?(referring to the need to install it before it can be uninstalled)

Reply from Devilin

this is highly possible


from Confused

Hi everyone...I'm not too savvy when it comes to this sort of subject...can someone explain to me what is so aweful about 180 solutions and their product? I know that i have this nCase thing on my computer as well and want to get rid of it if it is going to do harm.

Reply from Devilin , there's only me here, it's very lovely and dark, say arrrrrr it will cheer me up J

leaving n-case on your system probably won't harm it,

I think the reason people are so enraged is, freedom, that little thing, millions of people have died protecting, and the idea that a commercial company, probably without your knowledge, is invading your privacy, privacy is one of the underlying principle of freedom itself, and I'm sure you know the consequences of tolerating basic freedoms being eroded, ? are you going to hope that somebody else, will make a stand to try to protect your freedom ?, perhaps you'll sit back and tolerate your fundamental rights being pushed and perverted to their absolute legal limit ? or maybe you say no, and encourage other people to say no ? Your actions, or apathy , will affect other people

I'll get off my soap box now J


from Me

i downloaded ad-aware and scaned my computer and then deleted it really easy hope it helps:-)

Reply from Devilin

Your absolutely correct, it works perfectly, I've updated the how to remove section thank you me


from Tired Person

part 1

I had this garbage on my system for five days, I don't download so it had to have been a "drive-by" install. I also had blazefind, some supposed "optimizer", Golden Palace online casino, and at lease two other ad/spywares self-install at the same time. I tried EVERYTHING, no removal tool worked completely, neither did removal from the registry, they just regenerated on startup. I gave up and reformated my drive, I have a new HP so I was a little worried since I didn't know if these programs would corrupt the recovery portion of the hard drive. (HP's don't come with a XP disk, their recovery is on a partitioned part of the drive,FAT 32. Absurdly stupid, I know.) Anyway, I REALLY want to know 180 Solution's address or phone number. This is the only info I've come by so far, http://seattle.bizjournals.com/seattle/stories/2003/10/20/focus32.html

part 2

I found 180's address: 180 Solutions, Inc. 5110 Carilon Point Kirkland, WA 98023 General email: privacy@180solutions.com (is the "privacy" portion of their email a joke?!?) CFO Keith Smith Company phone number: 525-522-1200 Company fax: 425-522-1199 Also, I posted a link of a news article stating that n-case MUST be downloaded for it to install, among other fallacies. Funny how it doesn't mention that it renders your internet useless, unless you feel like gambling online or buying some garbage that their clients sell. Funny, huh? Anyway, please keep me abreast of this situation if there's any legislation or actions taken that you know of, thanks!

Reply from Devilin

Thanks, Tired Person, I've been given lots of personal email addresses, for this company, to print them, wouldn't be ethical on my part, and I'm not about to stoop, but I'm more than happy to print there public stuff,

The free software available via this site, would have sorted out, you're problems without the need to format, if you encounter any future problems, contact me again, try this as well, I've had excellent results with it and its free,

HP, is associated with backweb a download and update client ( spyware ) on all of their HP Pavilion system machines, if they've also become Associated with 180 Solutions, this would be news indeed, I'll contact them, to see what their position is,

Time for me to rattle some cages, I'll keep this updated as allways, no association with 180 solutions has taken place, so far


from newbie200

nCase well well, I just uninstalled (using the website) it AGAIN this morning and guess what, in doing so and without my knowledge, I received a new programme called 180Solutions, which contains msbb.exe.....which will not be deleted! I am just installing spybot, found it thanks to you and hoping that that will help me. These guys should be shot aghhhhhhhhhh I am in Australia so they really do get around

Reply from Devilin

Call back if you're still having trouble down under,( couldn't resist that J )

 

 
All of the written and graphic material on this site are © copyright Devilin art & Devilin code all rights reserved

My just for fun site